outline of state of Mississippi


Mississippi Department of Education initially selected 4 public school districts to participate in SWIFT, with two districts merging in 2014. Currently, the 3 school districts engaged in SWIFT partnerships are Meridian, North Panola, and Sunflower County Consolidated. In these districts, 11 elementary and 5 middle schools are SWIFT partners in equity-based inclusive education.  Most SWIFT districts in the state set technical assistance priorities to improve Multi-Tiered System of Support-Tier II and Tier III academic and behavioral interventions.  Many districts are also collecting and learning to use data to make decisions around student support needs.