outline of state of Maryland


Maryland Department of Education selected 4 public school districts to participate in SWIFT: Allegany County, Baltimore City, Cecil County, and Queen Anne’s County. From among these urban and rural districts, 9 elementary, 5 middle, and 2 combined elementary/middle schools are working toward their visions of fully integrated education for all students. Their current SWIFT technical assistance priorities include developing transformation teaming structures; Instructional Coaching; Multi-Tiered System of Support Tiered Reading and Math Instruction/Interventions with an emphasis on strengthening Core Instruction; Universal Design for Learning; strengthening schoolwide behavior supports; and using behavior screeners to provide tiered social/behavioral interventions.